| Home | Privacy | Contact |

Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge
Introduction To Flying
The Role of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

| First | Previous | Next | Last |

Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge



Table of Contents

Chapter 1, Introduction To Flying
Chapter 2, Aircraft Structure
Chapter 3, Principles of Flight
Chapter 4, Aerodynamics of Flight
Chapter 5, Flight Controls
Chapter 6, Aircraft Systems
Chapter 7, Flight Instruments
Chapter 8, Flight Manuals and Other Documents
Chapter 9, Weight and Balance
Chapter 10, Aircraft Performance
Chapter 11, Weather Theory
Chapter 12, Aviation Weather Services
Chapter 13, Airport Operation
Chapter 14, Airspace
Chapter 15, Navigation
Chapter 16, Aeromedical Factors
Chapter 17, Aeronautical Decision Making




Title 14 CFR Chapter 1, Federal Aviation Administration, is
broken down into subchapters A through N as illustrated in
Figure 1-12.

 Overview of 14 CFR, available online free from the FAA, and for purchase through commercial sources.
Figure 1-12. Overview of 14 CFR, available online free from the
FAA, and for purchase through commercial sources.

For the pilot, certain parts of 14 CFR are more relevant than
others. During flight training, it is helpful for the pilot to
become familiar with the parts and subparts that relate to flight
training and pilot certification. For instance, 14 CFR part 61
pertains to the certification of pilots, flight instructors, and
ground instructors. It also defines the eligibility, aeronautical
knowledge, flight proficiency, as well as training and testing
requirements for each type of pilot certificate issued. 14 CFR
part 91 provides guidance in the areas of general flight rules,
visual flight rules (VFR), and instrument flight rules (IFR),
while 14 CFR part 43 covers aircraft maintenance, preventive
maintenance, rebuilding, and alterations.

Primary Locations of the FAA
The FAA headquarters are in Washington, D.C., and there are
nine regional offices strategically located across the United
States. The agency's two largest field facilities are the Mike
Monroney Aeronautical Center (MMAC) in Oklahoma
City, Oklahoma, and the William J. Hughes Technical
Center (WJHTC) in Atlantic City, New Jersey. Home to
FAA training and logistics services, the MMAC provides

a number of aviation safety-related and business support
services. The WJHTC is the premier aviation research and
development and test and evaluation facility in the country.
The center's programs include testing and evaluation in ATC,
communication, navigation, airports, aircraft safety, and
security. Furthermore, the WJHTC is active in long-range
development of innovative aviation systems and concepts,
development of new ATC equipment and software, and
modification of existing systems and procedures.

Field Offices
Flight Standards Service

Within the FAA, the Flight Standards Service promotes safe
air transportation by setting the standards for certification
and oversight of airmen, air operators, air agencies, and
designees. It also promotes safety of flight of civil aircraft
and air commerce by:
• Accomplishing certification, inspection, surveillance,
investigation, and enforcement.
• Setting regulations and standards.
• Managing the system for registration of civil aircraft
and all airmen records.

The focus of interaction between Flight Standards Service
and the aviation community/general public is the Flight
Standards District Office (FSDO).

Flight Standards District Office (FSDO)

The FAA has approximately 130 FSDOs. [Figure 1-13]
These offices provide information and services for the
aviation community. FSDO phone numbers are listed in the
telephone directory under Government Offices, DOT, FAA.
Another convenient method of finding a local office is to use
the FSDO locator available at: www.faa.gov/about/office

Atlanta Flight Standards District Office (FSDO).
Figure 1-13. Atlanta Flight Standards District Office (FSDO).