| Home | Privacy | Contact |

Airplane Flying Handbook
Introduction to Flight Training
Purpose of Flight Traning

| First | Previous | Next | Last |

Airplane Flying Handbook


Table of Contents

Chapter 1,Introduction to Flight Training
Chapter 2,Ground Operations
Chapter 3,Basic Flight Maneuvers
Chapter 4, Slow Flight, Stalls, and Spins
Chapter 5, Takeoff and Departure Climbs
Chapter 6, Ground Reference Maneuvers
Chapter 7, Airport Traffic Patterns
Chapter 8, Approaches and Landings
Chapter 9, Performance Maneuvers
Chapter 10, Night Operations
Chapter 11,Transition to Complex Airplanes
Chapter 12, Transition to Multiengine Airplanes
Chapter 13,Transition to Tailwheel Airplanes
Chapter 14, Transition to Turbo-propeller Powered Airplanes
Chapter 15,Transition to Jet Powered Airplanes
Chapter 16,Emergency Procedures



Within the FAA, the Flight Standards Service sets the
aviation standards for airmen and aircraft operations in
the United States and for American airmen and aircraft
around the world. The FAA Flight Standards Service is
headquartered in Washington, D.C., and is broadly
organized into divisions based on work function (Air
Transportation, Aircraft Maintenance, Technical
Programs, a Regulatory Support Division based in
Oklahoma City, OK, and a General Aviation and
Commercial Division). Regional Flight Standards division
managers, one at each of the FAA's nine regional
offices, coordinate Flight Standards activities within
their respective regions.

The interface between the FAA Flight Standards
Service and the aviation community/general public
is the local Flight Standards District Office (FSDO).
[Figure 1-1] The approximately 90 FSDOs are
strategically located across the United States, each
office having jurisdiction over a specific geographic
area. The individual FSDO is responsible for all air
activity occurring within its geographic boundaries.
In addition to accident investigation and the
enforcement of aviation regulations, the individual
FSDO is responsible for the certification and surveillance
of air carriers, air operators, flight
schools/training centers, and airmen including pilots
and flight instructors.

Each FSDO is staffed by aviation safety inspectors
whose specialties include operations, maintenance,
and avionics. General aviation operations inspectors
are highly qualified and experienced aviators.
Once accepted for the position, an inspector must
satisfactorily complete a course of indoctrination
training conducted at the FAA Academy, which
includes airman evaluation and pilot testing techniques
and procedures. Thereafter, the inspector must
complete recurrent training on a regular basis. Among
other duties, the FSDO inspector is responsible for
administering FAA practical tests for pilot and flight
instructor certificates and associated ratings.

Figure 1-1. FAA FSDO.

All questions concerning pilot certification (and/or requests for
other aviation information or services) should be directed
to the FSDO having jurisdiction in the particular geographic
area. FSDO telephone numbers are listed in the
blue pages of the telephone directory under United States
Government offices, Department of Transportation,
Federal Aviation Administration.

Pilot and flight instructor certificates are issued by
the FAA upon satisfactory completion of required
knowledge and practical tests. The administration
of these tests is an FAA responsibility normally
carried out at the FSDO level by FSDO inspectors.
The FAA, however, being a U.S. government
agency, has limited resources and must prioritize
its responsibilities. The agency's highest priority
is the surveillance of certificated air carriers, with
the certification of airmen (including pilots and
flight instructors) having a lower priority.

In order to satisfy the public need for pilot testing and
certification services, the FAA delegates certain of these
responsibilities, as the need arises, to private individuals
who are not FAA employees. A designated pilot
examiner (DPE) is a private citizen who is designated
as a representative of the FAA Administrator to perform
specific (but limited) pilot certification tasks on behalf
of the FAA, and may charge a reasonable fee for doing
so. Generally, a DPE's authority is limited to accepting
applications and conducting practical tests leading to
the issuance of specific pilot certificates and/or ratings.
A DPE operates under the direct supervision of the
FSDO that holds the examiner's designation file. A
FSDO inspector is assigned to monitor the DPE's certification
activities. Normally, the DPE is authorized to
conduct these activities only within the designating
FSDO's jurisdictional area.

The FAA selects only highly qualified individuals to
be designated pilot examiners. These individuals must
have good industry reputations for professionalism,
high integrity, a demonstrated willingness to serve the
public, and adhere to FAA policies and procedures in
certification matters. A designated pilot examiner is
expected to administer practical tests with the same
degree of professionalism, using the same methods,
procedures, and standards as an FAA aviation safety
inspector. It should be remembered, however, that a
DPE is not an FAA aviation safety inspector. A DPE
cannot initiate enforcement action, investigate accidents,
or perform surveillance activities on behalf of
the FAA. However, the majority of FAA practical tests
at the recreational, private, and commercial pilot level
are administered by FAA designated pilot examiners.